Local Attractions

Aberlady Caravan Park is the ideal base for exploring East Lothian and the surrounding areas. Aberlady is a conservation village, on the route of the John Muir Way, situated in beautiful countryside, within easy reach of the Capital city of Edinburgh.

There are numerous Golf courses close by. Aberlady has two courses namely Kilspindie and Craigielaw and is only two miles away from Gullane the home of the championship course at Muirfield.

Aberlady is in an area of natural beauty, sitting as it does by Aberlady Bay with views over to Fife and with the Garleton Monument and open countryside to the South. It has many idyllic sandy beaches, and historic buildings nearby. Below are details of some of the varied local attractions.

Aberlady Bay

In 1952 Aberlady Bay Local Nature Reserve became the first local nature reserve in the UK. The reserve is also a Site of Special Scientific Interest. The Reserve is best known for birdwatching and is home to some rare birds such as skylarks. A small herd of roe deer live in the area.

The Reserve covers an area of 582 hectares (1,439 acres).

The John Muir Way

The John Muir Way – is a continuous path, which extends for almost 73km, linking East Lothian with the City of Edinburgh and the Scottish Borders. The route offers magnificent views of East Lothian including much of the coastline and a chance to see the natural history and historic sites of this unique landscape.

The path passes through Aberlady towards North Berwick and the Caravan Park is ideally situated as an overnight stop for walkers of this route.

Dirleton Castle

Dirleton Castle has boasted a garden probably since it’s earliest days as a medieval fortified residence. For the first 400 years, it served as the residence of three noble families – the De Vauxes, Haliburtons and Ruthvens.

The siege by Oliver Cromwell’s soldiers in 1650 rendered it militarily unserviceable.

Gosford House

The seat of the Earls of Wemyss and March, Gosford House is set in 5,000 acres of combined coast and parkland. It is an imposing neo-classical mansion. One of the last architectural commissions of the celebrated Scots architect, Robert Adam.

Constructed for the seventh Earl of Wemyss, the building was completed in 1800.

Aberlady Bowling Club

Aberlady Bowling Club has been in existence since 1888 and since then has been a focal point in the village situated as it is on the main road that runs through Aberlady. It is a very friendly club with people of all ages and experience made very welcome. Even if you know nothing about the game of bowls at Aberlady B C you will find much help and encouragement.

Open April – September

Museum of Flight

Since 1975, the Museum of flight at East Fortune has displayed its collection of aeronautical delights. It won the bid to display Concorde and this magnificent aircraft is now on display here.

The collection comprises aircraft, rockets, memorabilia, archives, instruments, propellers, models and photographs.